Our First Night Apart

Late Thursday afternoon, I ate some lentils and brown rice, thinking I would have a healthy, low-sodium meal to keep the swelling down on a sprained ankle which had kept me home from work that day. The internet instructions I found said to simmer the lentils for 20-30 minutes, and I did so for 45 minutes. Even so, I was aware that the legumes were a little bit tough, but ate them anyway since I was terribly hungry. (I usually don’t cook things that take more than a few minutes to prepare in the microwave or in a pot, so I’m not used to having to wait so long to eat when I’m cooking!)

By the time I was getting ready to go to bed that night, I already felt a little bit off. I ended up waking up several times during the night feeling nauseous, and by the morning was moaning in misery.

There is a natural insecticide in legumes like beans and lentils that will make you very ill if they aren’t thoroughly cooked. It’s called lectin. Never underestimate the power of those 5 little letters.

I started heading down to work Friday morning, trying to fight the desire to wretch. Before getting on the highway to head to the lab, though, I decided to drive towards my parents’ house instead, since I was already headed that direction.

All morning I tried to work up the strength to get into work (It was supposed to be my last day!). I ended up having to call out sick AGAIN, as I was steadily feeling worse and worse as the morning went on.

I’ll spare you the boring details of me feeling like dirt all day, barely being able to hold down a few bites of food and sips of water.

By the time evening came, I knew that I felt too sick to drive back to the in-laws’ where we are temporarily staying. Bumps on the road do NOT go well with upset stomachs.

What did this mean? Tom and I were going to be spending our first night apart since we got married nearly 3 months ago. Staying with my parents made me realize how glad I am to not be living there anymore. They are wonderful, caring people, but it’s a loud, emotional household. I like to avoid negativity and confrontation to a perhaps unhealthy degree. Let’s just say that isn’t the case for everyone in my family of origin.

All I wanted to do was cuddle with my hubby. (You can read this post about his miraculous healing powers.)

I mean, look at this text message I got from him yesterday:

I was sad that that couldn’t become a reality last night.

(Side note: yes, we add y’s on some of our words when we text each other. I know it’s making you feel as sick to your stomach as I did yesterday. Deal with it.)

Last night I was reminded of how I would miss Tom at night before we got married. It renewed my appreciation for being his wife!

One thought on “Our First Night Apart

  1. sanfranciscoatheart says:

    “They are wonderful, caring people, but it’s a loud, emotional household. I like to avoid negativity and confrontation to a perhaps unhealthy degree. Let’s just say that isn’t the case for everyone in my family of origin”. My story as well!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

