You Make Me Want to Be a Better Woman

One of my favorite movie moments of all time is from As Good as It Gets when Jack Nicholson tells an incredulous Helen Hunt, “You make me want to be a better man.” (If you haven’t seen the film, or it’s been a while, it’s worth taking a look at the clip here.)

Last week I got a pretty exciting new job. I’ve been working in biomedical research for nearly two and a half years now, but I’m happy to have found a position that allows me to work on both the clinical and laboratory side of things.

Goodbye to long, lonely hours of pipetting every day! Hello to interaction with actual patients!

Having Tom in my life has certainly been a big motivator in my recent job search. I wasn’t unemployed or anything, but now that we have goals as a couple for buying a house, travel, and raising a kid or two, I am all the more eager to do what I can to help us reach them.

Ever since the beginning of our relationship, I’ve noticed that I have an increased drive to make myself the best version of myself that I can be. I want to do it for the sake of this little family unit of two that we founded in August. I want to do it so that my future kids will be proud of me, fall in love with learning, and will want to do something cool with their professional lives.

Our marriage has made Tom feel galvanized to achieve both personally and professionally as well. It seems like this is a hallmark of every good relationship. (See the second half of last week’s post for more on this).

The purpose of this post is not to brag, but simply to comment on the fascinating change that takes place in two human beings when they commit to each other. Suddenly you’re not just one person making your way through life. You’re a team, and together you’re stronger. You have a cheerleader and co-conspirator in world domination at your side every evening. You have another person, with all of their life experience, knowledge, and perspectives that differ from yours, to give you input on all of your dilemmas and choices you have to make. And the knowledge that the two of you are sharing one life path from now on propels you to do more than you could’ve done on your own. Because you want that shared life to be flipping awesome for the two of you.

I’m looking forward to this new chapter in my career, and I couldn’t have a better partner to walk beside me as we go through life’s many changes.

15 thoughts on “You Make Me Want to Be a Better Woman

  1. Holly Ann Kurt says:

    So happy for you, both of you! How exciting, I send you unconditional love and light on your new journey! I look forward to getting to know about you through your writing! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

